Media’s pre-season All-SEC Team revealed

Alabama center Barrett Jones was selected to the pre-season All-SEC team by the media, receiving 183 of the 222 votes cast.

The attending press at SEC Media Days selected the SEC all-conference teams and made their pre-season predictions for the finishing orders of each team. Defending SEC Champion LSU was selected to win the Western Division and to defeat Georgia for the SEC title. The Tigers (139 first place votes) were picked ahead of Alabama (72), Arkansas (6), Auburn (4), Texas A&M, Mississippi State and Ole Miss (1) in the West. Georgia (132 first place votes) was the media’s pick to win the East over South Carolina (72), Florida (12), Missouri (2), Tennessee (4), Vanderbilt and Kentucky. Vanderbilt, Kentucky, Texas A&M and Mississippi State were the only teams not receiving first place votes.

Alabama had 12 players named to the All-SEC team with five earning first team honors. Ten Auburn Tigers were selected to the All-SEC team, with two first teamers.

LSU led all teams with 13 total All-SEC players, including seven on the first team list.

Below are the first team selections, along with notable second and third team members:


QB-Tyler Wilson, Arkansas

RB-Marcus Lattimore, South Carolina

RB-Knile Davis, Arkansas

WR-Da’Rick Rogers, Tennessee

WR-Cobi Hamilton, Arkansas

TE-Philip Lutzenkirchen, Auburn

OL-D.J. Fluker, Alabama

OL-Alex Hurst, LSU

OL-Chance Warmack, Alabama

OL-Luke Joeckel, Texas A&M

C-Barrett Jones, Alabama

Notable second-team: RB-Eddie Lacy, Alabama; C-Reese Dismukes, Auburn.

Notable third-team: QB-A.J. McCarron, Alabama; RB-Onterio McCallebb, Auburn; WR-Emory Blake, Auburn; TE-Michael Williams, Alabama.


DL-Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina

DL-Barkevious Mingo, LSU

DL-Sam Montgomery, LSU

DL-Corey Lemonier, Auburn

ILB-Nico Johnson, Alabama

OLB-Jarvis Jones, Georgia

OLB-Sean Porter, Texas A&M

DB-Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

DB-Eric Reid, LSU

DB-Robert Lester, Alabama

DB-Bacarri Rambo, Georgia

Notable second-team: DL-Jesse Williams, Alabama; DL-Damion Square, Alabama; ILB-C.J. Mosley, Alabama; DB-Dee Milliner, Alabama.

Notable third-team: DL-Nosa Equae, Auburn; DB-T’Sharvan Bell, Auburn.


PK-Caleb Sturgis, Florida

P-Brad Wing, LSU

RS-Tyrann Mathieu, LSU

AP-Dennis Johnson, Arkansas

Notable second-team: P-Steven Clark, Auburn; RS-Onterrio McCalebb, Auburn.

Notable third-team: PK-Cody Parkey, Auburn.


Comments are closed.

Built by The Robot Next Door. Powered by Wordpress.